Skip to main content


The Gold Coast Health Board, established on 1 July 2012, enhances decision making about local health services to benefit the local community. It is committed to:

  • Developing ways to involve the community in designing local health services
  • Exploring strategies to meet the growth in demand for health services
  • Considering innovative ways to increase resources to the region, including public / private partnerships
  • Working to improve access to hospital services while ensuring our world-class facilities are used to their capacity.

Gold Coast Health is committed to improved health equity for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in our community. Read the Reconciliation Statement

Board Chair

Prof Cindy Shannon AM

BA (Economics and History), Grad Dip Ed, MBA, DrSocSc (Pol Sci), GAICD, FQAAS (FQA)

A descendant of the Ngugi people from Moreton Bay, Cindy Shannon has most recently been the Pro Vice Chancellor (Indigenous) at Griffith University and an Emeritus Professor with the University of Queensland. She led the development and implementation of Australia’s first degree-level program for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health workers, has led major reforms in Indigenous health and played a key role in establishing the Institute for Urban Indigenous Health in South-East Queensland. Cindy served on the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) from 2005-2012 and is the Chair of the Queensland Ministerial Advisory Committee on Sexual Health; Chair of the Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Foundation; and a member of the Australian Research Council (ARC) Advisory Council. She has sat on a number of not-for-profit boards, including the Brisbane South Primary Health Network. In 2017, Cindy was recognised as a Queensland Great for contributions to Indigenous Health and Education and, in 2020, was made a Member of the Order of Australia (in general division) for contributions to Medical Education and Indigenous Health.

Board Members

Ms Colette McCool PSM


Ms Colette McCool PSM has more than 25 years’ experience as a senior executive in large and complex public sector organisations. She has held senior leadership positions across economic, environmental and social portfolios in Territory and Local Governments, in diverse functional areas such as community services and health, waste management and transport. Ms McCool has highly developed skills and extensive experience in community consultation, engagement and capacity building, coupled with a deep knowledge of the diverse Gold Coast community and its needs. In recognition of her contribution to public service, in particular the community of the Gold Coast, Ms McCool was awarded a Public Service Medal (PSM).

Prof Nicholas Zwar


Nick Zwar has extensive experience as a General Practitioner and primary health care teacher and researcher. He has a national and international reputation in health services research on the prevention and management of chronic illness, with a focus on respiratory and cardiovascular diseases. Nick has led and contributed to several sets of Australian and international clinical practice guidelines and has more than 200 peer-reviewed publications. He is Executive Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine at Bond University while working part-time in a local general practice.

Adjunct Professor Michael Hogan

Michael Hogan has extensive Board, Chair and CEO experience across not-for-profit, statutory and government spheres. He is the Convenor of the Thriving Queensland Kids Partnership, an initiative of the Australian Research Alliance for Children and Youth. He is also an Industry Fellow with the University of Queensland’s Queensland Brain Institute, and an Adjunct Professor with Queensland University of Technology Centre for Justice. Michael was an inaugural Paul Ramsay Foundation Fellow and is an Executive Fellow of the Australian and New Zealand School of Government. Michael is also a Director of the Torres Indigenous Health Corporation and a member of the Council of the Queensland Library Foundation. Michael has had an accomplished career as Director-General and Deputy and Assistant Director-General of multiple Queensland government departments, including responsibilities for community engagement, community services, child safety, youth, youth justice, disability services, women and multicultural affairs. He was previously CEO of the Public Interest Advocacy Centre for five years, and a member of the Board of the Consumers Health Forum and on the advisory committee to the New South Wales Health Consumer Complaints Unit. Michael is a strategic systems and organisational leader with a record of achievements resulting in positive outcomes for the community.

Ms Teresa Dyson

Ms Teresa Dyson, LLB(Hons), BA, MTax, MAppFin, GAICD

Teresa Dyson is a Non-Executive Director, with a portfolio of directorships across listed companies, government entities and not-for-profit entities. She sits on Boards in the media, energy, recycling and finance sectors. She is also a member of the Takeovers Panel. Teresa has previously been a Partner of a global law firm and a global accounting firm. Teresa is a former Chair of the Board of Taxation and a former member of the Foreign Investment Review Board.

Ms Daile Kelleher

Daile Kelleher is a not-for-profit executive leader with expertise in sexual and reproductive health advocacy and domestic and family violence. Daile is currently leading the state-wide crisis domestic violence service supporting pathways to safety and accountability for the use of violence. Daile was awarded a 2023 Churchill Fellowship to investigate abortion advocacy models. She is passionate about increasing access to healthcare services close to people's local communities and listening to people with lived experience about their needs. Daile has held governance roles as Vice President and Company Secretary for the Australian Breastfeeding Association and Management Committee Member for Ending Violence Against Women Queensland. She enjoys volunteering and spent five years at the Children's Hospital Foundation as a volunteer. 

Mr Michael Kinnane ESM


Michael Kinnane has extensive Board and Chair experience across not-for-profit, statutory, and public company spheres. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has had an accomplished career as Director-General of several Queensland government departments, including emergency services for more than 12 years. He was CEO of the Queensland Ambulance Service for five years. Michael is a strategic change leader who is community and outcomes-focused with a record of achievements resulting in positive patient outcomes for the community. Michael is also a Director of the Gold Coast Hospital Foundation. Michael was awarded an Emergency Services Medal (ESM) in 2005 for his leadership in reforming emergency services in Queensland, in addition to being awarded a Centenary Medal in 2001 by the Governor-General.

Mr Lucas Patchett OAM


Lucas Patchett is the Co-Founder and CEO of Orange Sky, a not for profit with a mission of positively connecting communities through a free mobile laundry and shower service for people experiencing homelessness. Started in 2014, Orange Sky has expanded to more than 60 services across Australia and New Zealand with a team of 3,000+ volunteers providing a range of services across a variety of different communities. Lucas is passionate about serving the community, innovation and how to create and build  organisational culture. Lucas was awarded the Young Australian of the Year award in 2016 and an Order of Australia Medal in 2020.

Last updated 28 Mar 2024